Leek Cemetery: Harold John Cope

The death of my Father-in-Law has pre-occupied me for the last five months and I have neglected this blog.  However, it did mean that I found myself in Leek Cemetery, which is a peaceful and atmospheric spot.  There are a number of memorial benches in the cemetery.  This one overlooks my Mother-in-Laws grave and I like to think my Father-in-law sat on it from time to time and contemplated the view.

John Simpson’s Photograph captures the spirit of the place and the Staffordshire Moorlands area very well if you want to know more about this area on the edge of the Peak District.

Despite being a Councillor I haven’t managed to find out anything more about Harold John Cope’s life in Leek.  However, I am grateful to his wife Katherine for remembering him with a fine bench.

Leek Cemetery

Leek Cemetery

In memory of Councillor Harold John Cope presented by his loving wife Katherine

In memory of Councillor Harold John Cope presented by his loving wife Katherine

Leave a Reply

